Mecklenburg County .org

  Home | Clerk | Sheriff | Fire | Court | Community College | Schools | Library | History
Department of Health | Hospitals | Humane Society | Airport | Parks | Fair | Real Estate | Business Directory


Mecklenburg County lies on the South Carolina border situated approximately in the south central portion of the state of North Carolina. Mecklenburg County is intersected by interstates 77 and 85 and is bordered by the Catawba River, Iredell County, Cabarrus county, Union county, and on the south by South Carolina Counties of York and Lancaster. Mecklenburg County with its 527 square miles is home to about 750,000 people and many top employers such as Wachovia Corporation, Carolinas Healthcare System, Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools, Bank of America Corporation and Duke Energy Corporation. Mecklenburg County is also is home to 140 parks, 5 golf courses and 141 public schools.

Major Mecklenburg cities and towns include:
Charlotte - Incorporated in 1768
Davidson - Incorporated in 1879
Huntersville - Incorporated in 1877
Matthews - Incorporated in 1879
Mint Hill - Incorporated in 1750 and 1971
Pineville - Incorporated in 1872

Mecklenburg county Neighboring areas include Iredell County, Cabarrus County, Union County, Lancaster County, S.C., Gaston County and Lincoln County


©1997-2024 All Rights Reserved